top of page

All about off-gassing

How to cut your own stink emission AND greenhouse gas emission!

Before and After

As I continued to comb my bathroom for single-use plastic containers, I noticed that deodorant was another nut that I hadn't cracked. It felt silly to have a large plastic vessel (especially the ones with the large bases and tiny wheels) for something like stick deodorant that you have to buy so frequently and that ultimately gets absorbed. I came across Chagrin Valley Soap & Salve products and decided to try their leading deodorant. I have to say I am a huge fan of this one for multiple reasons. The product itself is made of all natural and organic materials and feels amazing on your skin (no nasty chemicals sneaking in here!), the container is completely made of paper and they ship it to you in a small box with packing that is also just shredded paper, and its actually the first deodorant that I've used that works as an antiperspirant and smells fresh all day - win all round!


I'm still trying to get my local Mom's Organic Market to carry this brand, because they have so many lovely goodies and I don't want to continue to use shipping if I can avoid it. (Sidenote, if you also want to help me nudge them to carry this product or any other product, Mom's has this form that you can fill out to suggest new products). If you feel strongly about still using stick deodorant in a plastic container, Mom's has a receptacle where you can dispose of all of your Toms of Maine products, so try to pick those if you can.


There are also lots of at-home recipes for making your own deodorant, if thats of interest to you and you want to reduce your waste even further. My Plastic-Free Life has a great article on different options for plastic-free and toxin-free deodorant, and also some homemade recipes with baking soda and essential oils. Have fun with it!


For more info on this product: Chagrin Valley Soap & Salve Company

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page